BEGIN TYPING YOUR SEARCH ABOVE AND PRESS RETURN TO SEARCH. PRESS ESC TO CANCEL

Falling Fast by Tina Wainscott

Falling Fast by Tina WainscottFalling Fast (Falling Fast, #1) by Tina Wainscott
Published by Loveswept on June 16th 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 268
Goodreads

Fans of Jasinda Wilder and Colleen Hoover will adore this emotional new small-town romance—a smoldering tale of first love and long-awaited redemption from USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott. Raleigh West works in an auto shop day and night, trying to put his broken past out of mind. It’s been seven years since the fiery crash that landed his teenage sweetheart in the hospital . . . and him in jail. In an instant, he lost everything: his passion for racing, his hope of escaping his father’s shameful legacy, and the only girl he ever loved. Raleigh hasn’t seen her since that awful night. Never got a chance to apologize. And never forgave himself, either. When brave, beautiful Mia Wentworth returns to the Florida coast for the first time in what seems like forever, it’s not to see Raleigh. Even so, the moment she arrives she can feel his presence like a gust of wind that gives her goose bumps. Opening her heart to him again seems impossible. But staying away? That might be harder still. Lucky for them both, Mia’s never been the kind of woman to take the easy way out.

I typically read a book in about two days. The fact that it took me four days to finish this book is a reflection of the incredibly slow pacing. The basis for this second chance love story is heartwarming; however, the execution is flawed. Right from the beginning Mia forgives Raleigh for his part in the car accident that left her disfigured. Placing this so early in the story leaves nowhere for the plot to go. Raleigh finds it difficult to belief that he’s worthy of absolution, despite Mia’s continued reassurances to the contrary, and it grew rather tiresome.
There’s very little conflict and what there is feels drawn out. The author throws in a little drama at the 75% mark but it isn’t enough to salvage the story.
For my tastes, alternating point of view stories written in the third person are a hard sell unless extremely well executed. Unfortunately with the cliché writing style this book just didn’t resonate with me.

**ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.**

One StarOne Star

Leave a comment

Please be polite. We appreciate that. Your email address will not be published and required fields are marked

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.