The Child Thief by Brom

The Child Thief by BromThe Child Thief by Brom
Published by Eos on August 17th 2010
Genres: Retelling, Fantasy, Horror
Pages: 481
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Peter is quick, daring, and full of mischief—and like all boys, he loves to play, though his games often end in blood. His eyes are sparkling gold, and when he graces you with his smile you are his friend for life, but his promised land is not Neverland.
Fourteen-year-old Nick would have been murdered by the drug dealers preying on his family had Peter not saved him. Now the irresistibly charismatic wild boy wants Nick to follow him to a secret place of great adventure, where magic is alive and you never grow old. Even though he is wary of Peter’s crazy talk of faeries and monsters, Nick agrees. After all, New York City is no longer safe for him, and what more could he possibly lose?
There is always more to lose.
Accompanying Peter to a gray and ravished island that was once a lush, enchanted paradise, Nick finds himself unwittingly recruited for a war that has raged for centuries—one where he must learn to fight or die among the “Devils,” Peter’s savage tribe of lost and stolen children.
There, Peter’s dark past is revealed: left to wolves as an infant, despised and hunted, Peter moves restlessly between the worlds of faerie and man. The Child Thief is a leader of bloodthirsty children, a brave friend, and a creature driven to do whatever he must to stop the “Flesh-eaters” and save the last, wild magic in this dying land.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Upcoming Titles We're Excited About – November 2015

Holy moly. It’s November. O____O
 


 
No, but really. Food babies, food babies everywhere for the next couple of months. ♫ It’s the most wonderful time of the year. ♫
 
Okay, I’m focusing now. I’m focused. Books!
 
 

Jenny’s Picks

 

 

Emily’s Picks

 

 

Aimee’s Picks

 

 
 
 
If there any November titles you can’t believe we didn’t include, tell us in the comments below. Until next time, when I’ll be wearing my fat pants and accommodating 2 food babies. Stay hungry, friends.
 

Ten Sophomore Books That Were Better Than the Debuts

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.
For today’s Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is, “Top Ten Sophomore Novels That I Loved Just As Much If Not More As The Author’s Debut.” But because I’m a rebel, I’m going to pick ten sophomore books (the second books published) I thought were better than the authors’ debuts!

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke (editor)

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke (editor)Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke, Cat Winters
Published by Dial Books on August 18th 2015
Genres: Horror, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror 
A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.
Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

What a fantastic anthology! Loved it. Some of the stories were phenomenal and there was only one I actively disliked. Overall, I’m very impressed with how original and strange some of these stories were. I feel like the authors really dared to do something different here. Although none of these short stories truly scared me, I still found them to be creepy and eerie. If you’re in the mood for something fitting for Halloween, definitely pick this one up.

One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star